TOP PHOENIX DUI LAWYERS
TOP PHOENIX DUI LAWYERS
It is a challenging situation when facing a DUI charge. In Arizona, driving drunk (DUI) can be a criminal activity resulting in serious repercussions. The information contained on our site will help you understand what you are up against if arrested for DUI in Arizona. As soon as you discover more details on Driving under the influence information and facts, you might choose a skilled DUI lawyer which will probably be your greatest defense to avoid drunk driving conviction and also the ensuing fees and penalties . Yes, you are always innocent until eventually proven guilty in our court system, however if you simply took a breathalyzer test or perhaps a blood examination that documented your bac at .08 or over, you'll be found guilty of DUI (Drunk driving), operating an automobile when drunk based on Arizona DUI law. This is why hiring a Phoenix DUI Lawyer can be extremely beneficial. Your Phoenix DUI lawyer can play a major role in your defense. DUI assistance may be useful for getting your charges lessened or dropped altogether. Your Phoenix DUI attorney will look into your case to find out if the police officer implemented correct practices. They will investigate whether the police officer(s) did or did not adhere to procedures or were neglectful in their handling of you throughout the arrest and questioning process. Your Phoenix DUI attorney could possibly have your charges reduced or perhaps your case tossed out entirely.
If you have been charged with a DUI and found guilty of drunk driving in Arizona, it will cost you not only in time but money as well. In this section, we will discuss a few different fees and fines you must pay for, and yes you go to jail and you pay the State for their hospitality literally. So aside from fines, you must pay to things related to your DUI offense.
You must pay for breath interlock devices if you have been convicted of a DUI in Arizona. These devices are not cheap and cost $1200. That’s just as much as a nice HDTV, or your rent or mortgage payment. Think about the things you can purchase for that price, and now because of your DUI conviction, you must pay over $1200 for something you are forced to have in your vehicle at all times to start your automobile. Interlock devices are installed in your car and your automobile will not start with this device installed in the vehicle unless you blow into the breath device without a trace of alcohol in you.
These classes are expensive as well which cost close to $600, price depends on the location you choose. Not only do you have to pay a good nickel, but you must attend 36 classes. Think about what else you can be doing with your time. You can spend your time and money becoming licensed as a realtor or insurance agent for that kind of time and money.
SR22 AKA DUI Insurance
Now that you have been convicted of a DUI in Arizona, you will now be required to carry SR22 insurance by the State as a condition of your driving privileges. This means you will have to pay top dollar for insurance coverage on your vehicle, some premiums range from $5,000 - $10,000 annually. That is a lot of money to shell out for drinking and driving.
If you have been charged with DUI, it is best to employ the assistance of experienced Phoenix DUI lawyers to help not only reduce these costs but lessen the charge or even earn a dismissal.
Jail time is a mandatory in every type of DUI from a misdemeanor DUI all the way up to a Super Extreme DUI, including first time DUI offenders. In each case, a 10 day minimum-30 day minimum is required, in some cases a 24 – 48 hour jail time sentence may be required and this truly depends on your circumstances and your legal defense. In Arizona, jail time is mandatory because of the harm that can be created had the drunk driver hit another driver or worse. There are so many auto accidents caused each year by drunk drivers, so our legal system takes these very seriously.
Once your time is served and you have been through the legal process of a DUI conviction the next thing you must do is pay State assessed fines and penalties. These fees can range anywhere from $1500 -$5000 or more, not to mention how much you spent on your Phoenix DUI lawyer, if indeed you retained one for your legal representation. In most scenarios, our court system allows you to pay these fines off in installments, failure to pay can result in more jail time and serious collection tactics.
Probation will something required as a part of your plea or terms set forth by the judge in the event of a DUI conviction in Arizona. In many DUI cases, typically you will often have unsupervised probation, but any slip ups will result in jail time, and probably longer than what was previously served. Probation often lasts about 12 months depending on whether or not this is your first offense as well as the severity of your DUI crime.
As part of your legal obligations to make right your DUI crime in the State’s eyes, you must attend drunk driving classes that of course you will be financially responsible for. In many cases, these classes are usually completed on evenings and weekends. The length of the classes as far as to how long you are required to attend is up to the judge. Usually, it is a couple of weekends, one week or longer depending on your own circumstances.
Finally, there is auto insurance. You will more than likely have to carry a specialized auto insurance policy for your DUI conviction which is expensive. Your rates will go up, and you must carry an SR22 type of insurance on your vehicle.